The Grey Chronicles

2008.October.22

How to Write a Masteral Thesis, Part 2


Continued from yesterday

Reprinted the thesis on March 17 and then gave a copy to the thesis adviser. She had no comment, and told me to prepare for the thesis defense by March 2008. I prepared the thesis presentation, the banner announcing the presentation, then applied for graduation by April 2008. Unfortunately, the Graduate School did not permit me to defend because of time constraints, yet assured me that I could defend the thesis on April 2008 but I would be considered for summer graduation. I reprinted the whole thesis on 01 April 2008, about 272 pages, gave a copy to each of the guidance committee members and the Graduate School. The defense was not pushed through because my thesis adviser went on a summer vacation.

I re-enrolled again for the third semester of thesis writing. In July, the thesis adviser called my attention, this time she was able to read March 2008 edition of Chapters 1 (Introduction) and 3 (Theoretical Framework) and suggested some new changes, such as: multicolinearity tests on all factors, a change in some subsections’ title, arrangement of the results presentation plus the transfer of some graphics to the appendices. I pointed out that instead of reading the March 2008 edition, she should have read the April 2008 edition. She claimed that she did not receive the April edition. The MBM Coordinator suggested that I could contemplate to change the locale of the study from National Steel Corporation to something like "Local Steel Company" The other guidance committe members insisted that I should already defend my thesis because of the time element, and possibly that I could be slated for graduation on October 2008. Three weeks later, she wanted to meet, this time she was holding the April 2008 edition (which she previously claimed that I have not given her a copy). She re-edited Chapter 1 (Introduction) and Chapter 3 (Theoretical Framework) again, and wanted me to add back what she deleted from the March copy.

By the second week of August, she finished 72 out of 272 pages. At least she read some parts of Chapter 4 then complained that she could no longer go on because the thesis’ results and analyses were too long. She then questioned my use of "Apparent Steel Consumption" claiming that this is not factual. I prepared a write-up of some references culled from online research that the term "Apparent Steel Consumption and Demand" were commonly used by international organizations such as the International Iron and Steel Institute [IISI], the Southeast Asian Iron and Steel Institute [SEAISI], the American Iron and Steel Institute [AISI] and the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development [OECD]. She insisted that using "Apparent" can be construed as invalid data. I argued that these terms were defined in the "Definition of Terms" and the references quoted were known institutions, and that she should not accept the dictionary definition of the word "Apparent" per se but rather consider the contextual meaning as used in the study and as operationally described in the study’s "Definition of Terms".

Continued tomorrow: Part 3

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

