The Grey Chronicles

2009.January.1

A New Year; New Rules


Starting a new year, means a new slate. For that matter, the succeeding blogs these year shall follow a set of ten rules, loosely adopted from IBM. Although I personally believe I already adhered to some of these rules , I am reiterating these in to guide me for the new year ahead!

1. These are individual interactions, not corporate communications. This site is where I share my insights, speak my mind, bring my own personality, express my opinions and communicate within the context of a globally distributed contribution. I, and I alone, will be personally responsible for these posts. I will be mindful that what I write here will be public for a long time — thus to protect my privacy, I am writing with a pseudonym, Rey Adel, which I have used since 1970s as a high school journalist. Although, I am using Rey Adel as a nom de plume or pen name, many readers personally knows me.

2. Identify myself but protect my privacy — when relevant, my role at whatever organization — when I blog about that organization or any organization-related matters. I am speaking for myself and not on behalf of any organization. If I have a vested interest in something I am discussing, I will be the first to point it out, but also be smart about protecting myself and my privacy.

3. Use of disclaimer. If I publish a blog or post to a blog and it has something to do with work I do or subjects associated with an organization, I will use the following standard legal disclaimer such as this: “The posts on this site are my own and doesn’t necessarily represent the [organizations]’s positions, strategies or opinions.”

4. Respect copyright, fair use and financial disclosure laws. I will show proper respect for the laws governing copyright; fair use of copyrighted material owned by others; as well as relevant corporate laws. If ever I quote short excerpts of someone else’s work, they should be appropriately acknowledged or sufficiently cited or hyperlinked.

5. Protect confidential and proprietary information. I shall make sure I do not disclose or use confidential or proprietary information or that of any other person or company on any blog. I shall not cite or reference clients, partners or suppliers without their approval.

8. Respect my audience and my colleagues. Don’t use ethnic slurs, personal insults, obscenity, etc., and show proper consideration for others’ privacy and for topics that may be considered objectionable or inflammatory — such as politics and religion. Many might disagree to what I blog about, but please don’t use my external blog to air my differences in an inappropriate manner.

9. I will be the first to correct my own mistakes, and shall not alter previous posts without indicating that I have done so. I shall also respectfully and factually address misrepresentations made about any organization which I am affiliated in the media, by analysts or by other bloggers.

10. Always try to add value. I hope I do provide worthwhile information and perspective to my and my colleagues’ jobs and solve problems; improve knowledge or skills; contribute directly or indirectly to the improvement of the organizations’s products or services, processes and policies; and promote corporate values.


Several colleagues pointed out that I might have committed an obvious grammatical error, in the form of a misspelling: GREY. According to Webster’s (1988):

grey (grä) adj., n., vt., vi., British spelling of GRAY, “1 of a color that is a mixture or blend of black and white” . . . “5 designating a vague, intermediate area, as between morality and immorality”

By simple deduction, readers would have instantly seen that I am using Rey Adel as pseudonym, thus the GREY in site’s name: The Grey Chronicles, is a word play from both words: GRAY and REY!


Notes:

IBM (2005). IBM Blogging Policy and Guidelines. US: IBM Corporation, 16 May 2005. pp. 1-6. back to text

Neufeldt, Victoria E. [ed] (1988). Webster’s New World Dictionary of American English Third College Edition, Deluxe Color Edition. New York: Simon and Schuster, 1988. p. 590, 593. back to text

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Rubric Theme. Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

